TOW #8 The Lead Lab

So, this week we had to do a Poynter NewsU lab, The Lead Lab, for our class. http://www.newsu.org/courses/lead-lab

I learned a good deal of different things. I learned about the different types of leads and what goes into making them. I learned that not all of the W’s have to make it into your lead. The W’s are who, what, when, where, why, how, and so what according to the lab.

I also learned that which type of lead you will use for your story depends greatly on your news organization, the news itself, and the timing of publication.

I thought that the coolest part of the lab was the myth exploding part. In that part you clicked on one of four myths to “explode” it. I know from my journalism class about the different types of leads there are.

However, had I not known then I would have believed a bunch of the myths. I would have thought that setting the scene in a lead is a bad thing because that is something you rarely see in news. However, the lead does not have to sum things up in one paragraph sometimes setting the scene gives a better lean in and grabs attention better than just facts.

I also really liked how the types of leads were presented. They were presented like a molecular structure for a compound. It segmented all leads into either direct leads or delayed leads. The direct leads are the summary lead and the analysis lead. The types of delayed leads are: anecdotal, significant detail, emblem, and round-up.

I would like to explore the types of leads a little more, just to get more information on when to use which one, and the different ways they are used. I like to see a bunch of examples to better grasp something.

Leave a Reply

