Podcast time! TOW 7

I am currently listening to The Creative Career podcasts on iTunes. I will soon be posting my thoughts here!

As promised my thoughts and things I learned:

I listened to many of the podcasts available on iTunes and they were all helpful in some way or interesting. The two that stood out to me were the one on the nine personality types and the one on the book Grads Take Charge.

The one about the nine personality types was really interesting. It was an interview with one of the writers of the book The Career Within You, Elizabeth Wagele. Elizabeth talked about several of the personality types stating that she is an observer whcih is good for being a writer.

The nine types are:

  • Perfectionist
  • Helper
  • Romantic
  • Observer
  • Advernturer
  • Peaceseeker
  • Asserter
  • Achiever
  • Questioner

I thought it seemed really cool that the book is all about figuring out who you are and what category you fit into, or which few categories. Once you find out who you are then you can find which career is right for you.

The other podcast was with the author of Grads Take Charge, Kathryn Marion. She talked about how she wanted to figure out solutions to everyday life and share them which is why her company is called Real Solutions Press.

Kathryn talked about how her newest book is in the take charge series and is for new grads heading out into the world. She said it could be for high school or college grads. I thought it was interesting that she said that it has everything from cooking, to finding a job, to picking a roommate in it.

From these two podcasts and the others I listened to I learned alot. From these two specifically I will possibly go buy the two books mentioned.

Thoughts on podcasts in general:

Listening to podcasts can be helpful to PR students because you can listen to a podcast by a professional that details their day or has an interview they did. Also, several professionals have podcasts that will have helpful hints, tricks, and advice for people interested in a career in public relations.

Added to that it can be a good marketing tool, you interview someone about a book they wrote, people get interested, and people go buy it.

For new practitioners of PR it can be helpful to listen to podcasts to see what others in your field are doing. It can be helpful to see what they are doing and maybe follow in their footsteps.

I think that it would be a great idea for someone like me, a PR student to create a podcast now follow it through the rest of college and my learning experiences and internship, and then on into when I am starting out in my career. Then other students could listen and see what I, or whoever did said podcast, was doing and learning and compare.

Maybe I will look into doing that. Would you tune in?

Leave a Reply

